John Carter: The World of Mars – what’s with the cover ?

So I was poking around looking for the release date of Marvel’s John Carter movie prequel comic. The best I’ve come up with is Oct 26 with number 2 on Nov 9. That seems a little close but maybe they’re going on a tight run before the movie. What’s weird is that the cover for #1 isn’t on the site anymore.  I was never crazy about this image and it has shown up in 2 stages of finish. The earlier made John Carter look like Ted Bundy from Married with Children. I looked the artist up, he’s very good. So I don’t if we’ll see different image, a further polished one or something new. The mysteries of Mars……

8 responses

  1. Ralok

    I am seeing a zero risk attitude with disneys treatment of the advertisement and such

    so they might have discarded the cover because of the somewhat negative reaction

    September 12, 2011 at 2:15 pm

  2. Ralok

    and I am really sorry to say this . . .

    I hate to say this . . . .

    I am usually optimistic about stylized artwork . . . .

    but an aspect of this throws it off for me

    John Carter looks like cotton candy, and I think cotton candy is delicious

    therefor . . . john carter on this cover looks delicious . ..

    SO NO . .. . I CANNOT LOOK AT THIS COVER

    because it makes me either feel like a cannibal, or makes me question my sexuality

    or makes me wanna go get cotton candy . . . and I got bad teeth I cant eat cotton candy

    September 12, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  3. I’m not really going to comment on this other than to ask – are you talking about the color pink perhaps ?

    September 12, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    • Ralok

      cotton candy bro . . . cotton candy

      September 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm

  4. Ralok

    self proclaimed greatest barsoomian scholar of the 21st century

    claiming John Carter looks like cotton candy because he seems overly fluffy and pink

    there is something distinctly wrong with me I think D:

    September 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm

  5. I hadn’t noticed it before, but he is fluffy and pink.

    Actually I thought he did seem quite pink the first time I saw it. I tried to avoid that with my John and Dejah, but on mine he seems very cool to my eye.

    September 13, 2011 at 1:38 am

    • I took a look at a sock drawer full of the artist’s ( Esad Ribic) and his caucasian figures are always kind of pink. He doesn’t stray to far from cool key lights on his figures and his fill lights are usually cool as well. They all have a Slavic cold nosed pinkness to them. He’s very good , but he and I have different color aesthetics .

      September 13, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      • Ralok

        well . .. I just think that in all honest that john carters face seems a little off (Dejahs doesnt)

        and his skin color is too close to dejah’s

        thats the only problems with this cover, I think its nice though to see different visuals . . . Also for some reason the detail on the clothes fascinates me (I am easily amused though)

        but for kicks, I did crop out john carter and overlay the image wit cotton candy . . . . that was funny

        September 14, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Leave a Reply

