The New Yorker video –

– for your delight and edification. I started writing this post on my iPad and it died, taking the whole ship down with it. So I’ll try again. The video is from  the iPad version of the article. It shows the original plate of Taylor Kitsch and Willem Dafoe, then the same with rough animation. That’s followed by Andrew Stanton on a conference call ( probably San Fran to London ) followed by the finished work. I really like it. As I’ve said in previous post it feels very REAL to me. I can relate it to my years of climbing around the badlands of Dinosaur Provincial Park and yet it’s different. Those rocks are wild, I’ve never seen anything like that. And look behind Taylor/John Carter there’s a greenish tinge to the far hills.

So, here it is, from my iPad to my computer camera to you. In reverse. – Jeff  http://gallery.me.com/jeffdnt#100977/Tars-20Tarkas&bgcolor=black

3 responses

  1. Daniel

    Is it my imagination or did Tars Tarkas just smile at the end? I wonder if they are going to make them emotionally void like in the books, only laughing at pain, etc., or throwing that out all together.

    October 14, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  2. Yea, Stanton talks a lot about the smile when he’s discussing the animation. You may not have been able to hear that in most excellent copy 😉

    October 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  3. Bard of Helium

    What fun the filmmakers are having right now! (I know it’s a lot of hard work, as well.) They get to spend their time diving deep into the minds of the CG characters like Tars Tarkas and figuring out every little motivation for every little expression. It’s those details that make people want the characters to be real.

    October 18, 2011 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

