New Poster.

I like it.

23 responses

  1. Alex Chapman

    It looks great, he just needs a sword in his hand.

    November 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    • ralok

      John Carter is a living weapon Alex, he doesnt need a sword, he can kill with a single punch

      but it certainly would have added more to this poster if he had one!

      November 28, 2011 at 5:12 pm

  2. Alex Chapman

    Eric,
    It’s good you are talking to me again. I really miss pulling your chain.

    November 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

  3. Daniel

    The angle they are going with seems to dump the whole “I don’t remember how old I am” bit. I hope I’m wrong. I always liked that element of mystery to uncle Jack.

    November 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    • ralok

      I havent seen any indication that they have abandoned that as of yet

      in fact, from my understanding his immortality is a huge plot thread because on earth he could not love or lead a normal life because of it.

      I was under the impression it owuld be revealed that he watched his previous wife age away before his eyes and that would be the tragedy of his existence

      that upon mars he is home, because of so many things

      John Carter is not for earth, he is for mars, he has always been for mars

      that is who john carter is

      he is the god of war himself, the spirit of mars!

      lol what am I talking about

      November 28, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  4. The red really catches the eye.

    November 28, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  5. Daniel

    I like the idea of that, although the seeing his wife age would take away from the mystery IMO. I like my JC better when he’s clueless about his past and hacking down armies. But I digress…

    November 28, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • ralok

      that is the thing, I think something like his wife is almost necessary because without it . . .. his immortality will have to be exposited to us in a clunky manner!

      I hate clunky exposition!

      and I dont view him as clueless of his past, just cluelesss of his distant past, he knows enough to know he is immortal and ageless

      so I would say about 300 years minimum that he can remember

      November 29, 2011 at 5:26 am

      • Daniel

        Splitting hairs. Obviously he remembers his past to a point. I don’t argue that at all. Clunky exposition. Hmmm Personally, I like little bits that make you wonder, that are never fully explained. Too many times today writers set up a character with certain questions and when they finally reveal the answers it just plain sags (not always, but much of the time). That’s all I mean.

        I think the wife will work wonderfully for the story they’ve made. But its certainly unnecessary with ERB’s original work.

        November 29, 2011 at 7:12 am

      • ralok

        EXCEPT they are not going to explain his immortality, they are just going to show the consequences of it!

        those are two totally different things!

        and I find that why that happens most of the time that . .. . when the truth is explained . .. why it lets down is because the author tries to hard to surprise

        you read fan community speculation and some truly brilliant and awesome answers are being presented that would rock totally

        and the author reads it and thinks “sh*t they figured it out gotta change it”

        November 29, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      • Wonkabar

        It sounds like the Therns are ‘world-builders’. It wouldn’t surprise me at all if it’s implied that they are also responsible for earth as well- and had a hand in our religion/government (illuminati-type shit) and that this all ties in with Carter’s supossed immortality. That he is actually OF mars of the distant past and just doesn’t remember. I definitely get the feeling that they’ve expanded greatly on some of the things that were kept mysterious in the books

        November 29, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      • ralok

        I really hope not, my fear is that andrew stanton when writing may have read one too many fanmade articles and might have mistaken them for fact.

        also, I feel that he might have mistaken DC comics white martians for burroughs, because for a long time the wikipedia page incorrectly said they were based on burroughs martians

        These would be major mistakes, I mean look at DC whites and film whites, both are supposed to be world killing shape shifters

        I feel like they seriously dropped the ball when the did their research for writing the film! Because alot of fanwank and incorrect information seems to have made its way in

        November 29, 2011 at 3:48 pm

      • Wonkabar

        …look at the teaser when Carter is gazing at the moons- he has a ‘I’ve been here before/there’s something familiar about this place’ expression. It wouldn’t surprise me if that ends up being the line right there. It also would be interesting if in the movie somewhere we actually see Carter in the present day, looking at scientific discoveries of how mars is devoid of life- how it appears it once had life and running water, but vanished long ago…thus giving him the drive and passion to get back and change what happened

        November 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      • ralok

        no bad, no time travel, bad!

        November 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      • Bard of Helium

        As for the trying too hard to surprise, even to the point of changing things if people are guessing right, if its a SERIES of books or movies, I think the writer needs to just make a plan at the start and stick to it, even if some people have guessed what’s coming. The fans won’t know for sure what’s coming, so in a way they’ll still be surprised. And there are only so many good ideas under the sun. The fans who guessed right will just be all the more gratified. Basically, give people enough time and focus, and they’ll make even the most outlandish concepts seem predictable, so the writer shouldn’t get cagey about it. The fun for everyone involved should come from seeing how things happen, from seeing things fleshed out, and there will always be hits and misses with the guesses. I mean, people still go to see movies like Titanic, where everyone knows the ending before they go in. They go to see adaptations that they hear are super close to the book. It’s about the experience more-so than the surprise. And there WILL still be surprises, as no one can guess all the hows and whens.

        November 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm

      • Bard of Helium

        In regards to mistaking the fan stuff as fact, there is of course the “facts” of the novels, but there’s no rule-book that says that every mystery that ERB left has to be left in the movie series. I’m not convinced that the absolute best rendition of Carter is to leave him as a completely mysterious immortal. If there is to be an explanation of him, it should be something that exploits as much of the rest of the lore of the world as possible, so it feels organic. Then it will just be a question of the most dramatic, believable reveal.

        November 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    • Daniel

      I think you are right about trying too hard. I can think of a couple of examples that were just atrocious IMHO. Lost being one and Stephen King’s the Dark Tower another. People demand answers and they feel obliged to give them. I say, get used to disappointment. 😀

      I am sure they will be making good use of JC’s age. I still got the feeling the movie is making him a normal guy who lost his wife and soul in the war and gets redeemed on Barsoom. That was the feeling I got from the things I’ve read. But I could very well be wrong.

      November 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

  6. You won’t be able to miss this poster, you’ll see it MILES away.

    November 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    • The first poster/s taught us the logo, now we have this style. I’d like to see more posters in this vein.

      November 28, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  7. Robert

    Heads Up Everyone!!!
    I just found out about this.
    The new trailer is going to be posted online at 9:01 PM Pacific Time on Wednesday Novemember 30th!

    http://movies.ign.com/articles/121/1213443p1.html

    November 29, 2011 at 7:27 am

  8. Thanks Rob !

    OK, the weirdest response I’ve seen to the new posters comes ( of course ) from IMDB. ” Looks cheap” What , not enough money spent on different colours ? I makes me think of some of Disney’s Tomorrow Land posters from the 60’s. I love the colour , I can’t wait to have have one in my studio. – Jeff

    November 29, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    • Daniel

      Has a pulp feel to me. I like it!

      November 29, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  9. Alex Chapman

    I like the red poster, just wish we could see some of that red in the stills from the movie.

    November 29, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

