High quality trailer stills. Lumps and lumps of ’em.

27 responses

  1. Bard of Helium

    Nice! It’s cool to scour the details.

    In the first shot of John Carter crouching to jump into the charging Warhoons, there’s a dust-cloud-producing blurry figure to his right. Looks like trusty Woola!

    I still can’t figure out what’s happening with the energy beam and the three (four?) ships. The ship in the middle is Zodangan and doesn’t seem to be disintegrating like the other two.

    December 1, 2011 at 10:13 am

    • ralok

      what is happening is they picked up a copy of a fighting men of mars and decided to integrate some of it πŸ˜€

      December 1, 2011 at 10:32 am

  2. Yea I’d say thats Woola.

    December 1, 2011 at 10:22 am

  3. Xavier

    Would Tharks play drums? I think that goes against everything they are…

    December 1, 2011 at 11:13 am

    • Better not go. They’ve ruined the movie.

      December 1, 2011 at 11:23 am

      • Xavier

        Lighten up.. it was an observation. Am I wrong though?

        December 1, 2011 at 11:55 am

    • ralok

      everyone knows that tharks are bassoon players

      john carter is ruined forever

      December 1, 2011 at 11:43 am

    • Sorry, as huge fan myself I’m sick of the absolutists and I’ve been reading way to many pissy posts today. But that’s what the intertubes are for right ? I know what your saying, and I know what ERB wrote. He did like through down his absolutes all over the place. I think for the filmmakers they’d have to say, ‘how do we communicate something on screen ? ” And culturally, drums and war go together despite whatever ERB said. Once again – sorry, the grumpy ones are getting to me. – Jeff

      December 1, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      • ralok

        I dont know if the tharks used drums or not . . . I dont remember a single thing to contradict the idea

        I have read all the books a few times, I remember nothing that contradicts it

        I know the tharks made lamps . . . and constructionwise lamps arent that different from drums

        just a . . . leather top to it, and bam a drum

        drums seem fine, although since thoats have horns I hope to see them making horns out of horns to achieve a greater sense of consistency . . . that owuld be wicked

        December 1, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      • Xavier

        I love JC. They were the second books I ever read (after a Jr. High copy of the Illad) in the 70s. I’ve spent way too much money on copies of books I already had because of a different cover or better condition. I remember buying the original Marvel comics (which I still have!). The drums were just something that popped out to me. I consider music art. And the green men of Barsoom have no use for art. This is a race that let the weak die and don’t even know their own children. So I wasn’t really criticizing the movie, it was just a ‘purist’ observation. I’m excited as the next person for this movie. I even told my wife she had to dress up as Dejah and the kids had to be Tharks when we see it opening night. They thought I was nuts…

        December 1, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      • ralok

        hmm you raise an . . .. interesting point

        buuuuuut I think that it isnt about art, its about intimidation and domination

        In my world view its acceptable that they dont appreciate what they have

        as well, I think there are a few instances where something that could be considered art makes its way into tharkian culture

        the ornaments for example are a type of fashion . . . . you can argue it is art

        but do they realize that . . . do they care . . .does it give them joy

        December 1, 2011 at 1:02 pm

  4. I’ve added a couple new images. Some carnage and a pretty sunset πŸ™‚

    December 1, 2011 at 11:46 am

  5. Xavier

    btw. Love the rifles of the green men…

    December 1, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  6. I think the rifles were designed by Mark Andrews, cowriter, second unit director and director of Pixar’s BRAVE.

    December 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    • ralok

      they are certainly well designed and fitting for the setting πŸ˜€

      December 1, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  7. Xman

    For the record, I think Dejah is the best part of the trailer!!! I think Lynn plays the part well and had perfect artistic style in several of the scenes when she was interacting with John Carter.

    For those who raised issues with some of the dialogue, I thought it was very well done with high impact for all they were trying to convey in a brief trailer. And by the way, the line from Dejah…..”You are John Carter of Earth?”….comes directly from the book! Well done Andrew Stanton, Lynn Collins, and team!

    December 1, 2011 at 6:27 pm

  8. Alex Chapman

    Eric,
    Please explain, where do you see “A Fighting Man of Mars” in the new trailer?

    December 2, 2011 at 11:20 am

    • Bard of Helium

      Was “Fighting Man” the one with the metal-disintegrating ray weapon?

      December 2, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      • Ralok

        YES that is the fighting man influence I am seeing, the mysterious metal disintigrating weapon

        I know alot of people dislike a fighting man, but it is a good place too look if they wanted to integrate more sci-fi concepts!

        Even if the addition wasnt intentional, at least we cannot complain that it doesnt fit the setting, because such devices as the disintigration weapon seen in this trailer are a known entity in burroughs mars!

        December 2, 2011 at 11:31 pm

  9. Alex Chapman

    I’m almost certain the green man pointing the rifle with his eye to the scope is Tal Hajus, his left tusk is broken off.

    December 2, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    • Ralok

      Good catch alex THUMBS UP BRO!

      December 2, 2011 at 11:38 pm

  10. Dejah

    Looks like the scene where Carter kills the white ape with one blow is not from the arena?

    December 4, 2011 at 6:54 am

    • ralok

      highly unlikely, that is from much earlier in the movie I believe, just placed over that to make carters actions seem cool.

      I believe that dialogue comes from the killing of his first green martian!

      also, i have knowledge of the arena scene that makes it impossible for John Carter to have killed it with one blow .. . sorta

      December 4, 2011 at 9:38 am

  11. Alex Chapman

    I’m sure you are right Eric,
    Tars is referring to JC killing a thark with one blow, which is exactly the way it happened in the book.

    December 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  12. Brad Turner

    The Warhoons seem to have messed up tusks where the Tharks have smooth tusks. When I watched the trailer the audience members in the arena scene have smooth tusks which would lead me to believe that this is not a Warhoon arena but rather a Thark arena. So either there is two arena scenes which would seem redundant or they dropped the Warhoon arena scene where Kantos Kahn (James Purefoy) is first introduced from the book and added a Thark one.
    I am very much looking forward to this movie and I trust Stanton and the other script writers but I admit this change does concern me a little bit.

    December 5, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    • ralok

      I think they are trying to scoot out Kantos Kans development to give more screen time and character development to Tars Tarkas to better reinforce his friendship with Carter

      which . . . .I cannot in any way disagree with

      a similiar change occured in the harry potter movies, they dropped dobby in some places to give neville some more screen time, because in the earlier movies they had cut him out of a few scenes and they didnt think they needed him so much

      December 5, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

