World of Barsoom 3

20111214-082416.jpg

I liked this one better than the last. It had a little more happening and was visually a little more interesting. I’ll keep it short and to the point.

Gripes – Dejah ( in my opinion ) is tossing around Sab Than away above her weight class. I’m not very big and have several years of karate, what she does doesn’t feel how a smaller person could keep a larger away from them. And the artist doesn’t do action very well, it’s always pretty stilted, like posed dolls.
– the landscapes, does light be ever change on Barsoom? Everything is the same uninspired pallet all times of day everywhere ? After seeing the second trailer which shows us a bright and crisp and variable Barsoom I can only conclude that the strategy was to hide things Disney didn’t want seen. And that a one note approach was easiest. And boring.
– we see Calots, which is cool, but I don’t think the penciler saw anything but the maquette. They have 6 instead of the 10 legs that the website says they have. Their jowls never pull back from their huge crazy teeth, that’s something you can see in one of the preproduction paintings.

Likes- it was great to see the Warhoons and they were entertaining. I wonder if they ritually cut their lips back to reveal their teeth ?
– The new city was interesting in an Escher kind of way.
– a glimpse of some banths, they probably aren’t in the movie but they were fun to see. This design reflects the Guide to Barsoom art that I always liked.

Overall I was more engaged with this one than the previous and I look forward to the last one which will mean that we’re only two months away from the movie. – Jeff

13 responses

  1. Que bacana!
    Fiz um comentário sobre o lançamento do filme com relação ao livro!
    Está no link: http://www.umboboapaixonado.com/2011/12/john-carter-disney.html

    December 14, 2011 at 9:35 am

  2. And translated – How neat!
    I made a comment about the film’s release about the book!
    Is the link: http://www.umboboapaixonado.com/2011/12/john-carter-disney.html

    Below is a link to the translated site. – Thanks Ronaldo !

    http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.umboboapaixonado.com%2F2011%2F12%2Fjohn-carter-disney.html

    December 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

  3. ralok

    interesting, I would have liked very much to see a screenshot of the banths so I could add the article to the wiki!

    I have no money, so I will not be able to get my hands on a copy of this until . . .. well until a certain something happens that I dont like to talk about :I

    unfortunatly, these somebodies responsible for my acquisition of these comics dont yet know that princess of mars and warlord of mars are different series. . . . . for some reason – _ –

    December 14, 2011 at 10:54 am

  4. I want to see the banths too. For some reason, the banth is my favorite Barsoomian creature/animal.

    December 14, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  5. Alex Chapman

    Jeff, the link to the banth doesn’t work.

    December 14, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  6. Alex Chapman

    That one works and the banths look just like the banth carved on the saddle of Tars Tarkas’s thoat.

    December 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    • ralok

      extroadinary level of detailing they are putting into this movie

      funny, they dont use saddles in the book . . . .

      that would have been visually boring though, so they made a change and made the BEST of the change

      December 14, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  7. Sharp eye dude. I looked at that critter on his saddle and thought, ” looks like a pussy cat” and nothing else. I have no explanation for that.

    December 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  8. ralok

    hmmmmm . . . .. now how about a screenshot of every page 😄

    (JUSTAJOKE)

    December 15, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  9. Have you read the previous 2 ?

    December 16, 2011 at 8:09 am

    • ralok

      yeah, and I actually really liked them (but I also liked Asylums princess of mars so I am not an accurate meter for judging things)

      and I have been eagerly awaiting the reveal of the citidal, and an underground warhoonian city :O

      that is cool, and interesting to me in particular because I have always associated the warhoon with subterranean fauna because it is in their cities alone that you find the enigmatic blazing eyes of mars within the subterranean corridors!

      As well I am a huge fan of the mobile zodanga because it is a clever way to deal with the fact that the city cannot stand still in the books 😄 I wonder if they will say it is moving between those two coordinates (3?) in the movie :O!

      DONT take a screeonshot of each page, that was honestly just a joke, I am going to wait patiently to get my copy 😀

      December 16, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

