Happy Martian New Year !

I first read a A Princess of Mars ( as best as I can tell ) around this time of year in 1976/77. I remember lying on the couch with the Close Encounters of the Third Kind soundtrack playing ( some of the real freaky creepy stuff) while John Carter awoke on Barsoom to face Tars Tarkus. Then I checked dates and realized that wouldn’t be my first reading because I’d read it before Star Wars. When Star Wars came out I loved it and I immediately wanted a John Carter movie. I saw the Tuskan Raiders as budget Tharks. That was 34 years, or around 12410 days ago . That means I only have 005 % of my wait left.

These days as I cruise into, or past my studio to let my dogs out, I smile every time I see my John Carter poster all bright orangey/red on the wall . After years of attempts at bringing John Carter to the screen it’s pretty much here. So happy Martian New Year, it’s going to be a good one. – Jeff

One response

  1. Bard of Helium

    As we draw closer to early March, I expect the excitement will become more and more palpable. These are great days to be Barsoom fans! 🙂

    December 31, 2011 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

