Enthusiastic reports from last night’s viewing at Pixar studios.

Ayelet Waldman #johncarter was a goddamn masterpiece.

lynncollins7 lynn collins
#johncarter blew me away. @andrewstanton has done again! U guys are going to flip out! #bringontheawesome

ayeletw Ayelet Waldman
Just saw John Carter. It was AWESOME. Seriously. Best action movie I’ve seen … maybe ever? Lush and gorgeous. Great love story. FAB!!!!

joannam Joanna Mathews
Got to screen #JohnCarter yesterday and lemme just say…wow! pleasantly surprised! it’s really good! pumped and ready for it to come out!

ayeletw Ayelet Waldman
The thing about #johncarter is that the female lead is smart, & kicks ASS. It’s so female friendly! @LanceArthur

5 responses

  1. Over at IMDb, they’re saying that Ayelet Waldman is only saying what she says because she is Michael Chabon’s wife. They probably won’t believe Lynn Collins either.

    It’s getting bad over there. From people saying that it will outrigh flop, not make much money and so forth. That’s not to mention the “fans”. Especially MCR with his constant complaining about the changes (especially the dead wife and child) and calling those that defend the changes a “Stantonite” (and negatively at that).

    Joan Mathews was mentioned and MCR asked if she was related to Stanton in some way. They can’t take people for their word, they have to be have some kind of ulterior motive.

    January 25, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    • I’ve stopped checking John Carter page on IMDB a long time ago. Even when there was just about no information on the movie, most of those so-called fans kept complaining about every possible detail (especially the ones we knew nothing about) and attacking everyone involved.

      Obviously one cannot expect fans to like all changes made (I myself don’t agree on some of them either), getting upset over some change is healthy. But all that complaining based on speculation is too exasperating (not to say stupid). It’s like they think complaints make them bigger fans.

      Diehard fans should understand we’re talking about two completely different media here. Something that works in a written piece is not going to work as well as in a movie and vice versa.

      January 26, 2012 at 5:10 am

  2. “getting upset over some change is healthy” I don’t know about that, you can’t do anything about it. I’m sure that ( in this instance ) the changes are really polishing the rough edges off and/or the result of necessity. Of course I hold judgement until I see the film.

    As an artist myself I also respect the film maker enough to allow him to do his thing. A Princess of Mars is my FAVOURITE BOOK but it’s far from perfect. It’s basically a first time novel with no rewrite ( but he did give it a spell check ) Separate from film being a different media, there are some real issues in the book’s structure caused by ERB’s tendency to make it up as he goes along and never look back. So if the film can take the core story, polish it and make it sing, I’m all for it.

    On a different note – my god those IMBDer’s are horrible !!! I wasted hours of my life there battling those buffoons years ago. I say slam the lid on the lot of them and flush them away.

    January 26, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • alexanderdaleiii

      funny thing is, because of how he was writing it . . . really it could be adapted perfectly in only two types of entertainment, a video game, or a television series . . .

      if you want an EXACT replica of the book, it has to be a telivision series with one chapter as each episode

      January 26, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  3. Well, what I meant was that we don’t have to agree on filmmakers’ every decision. Sometimes they think they’re improving the original material when in reality they’re making a bigger mess (which I don’t think will the case with John Carter, BTW). I’m a huge Lord of the Rings fan, books and movies alike, I understand the changes were efforts to better tell the story on the big screen, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t miss parts and characters. All in all, I just want JC to be as good as it gets and I do feel optimistic that it will live up to my expectations.

    January 26, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

