TONS of clips and interviews.

So I blew a gaskatte a while ago over the ‘John Carter is stoopid’ crap all over Twitter as I’m scouring for news you, my fine readers. In response ( and taking a friend’s advice ) I took the calot for a run and look what happens – a plethora of John Carter goodness ! The clip with Woola makes me laugh, but the one of John Carter and Dejah discussing planets with ERB’s names just gave me chills. The music is sweeping and their interaction is great. Oddly enough I thought  the shot that we saw from this long ago was not flattering to Dejah. Now I know she looks wonderful. And what a princess.

The interview clips seem to be cut oddly as far as the sound goes, but dig on in. All of these goodies come from http://www.youtube.com/user/jbrianshirley – Jeff









9 responses

  1. Bard of Helium

    One with Mark Strong as well:

    February 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm

  2. Alex Chapman

    Love the clips. My favorite is “I (try to) Elude My Watchdog”, right out of the book.
    Second is the “Virginia” clip, also right out of the book.

    February 15, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  3. Daniel (Mccinny)

    Yikes. The Lynn Collins clip makes me worried. I hope this doesn’t turn out to be another environmental idealogical movie like that A flick (sorry, sick of saying that title in reference to this film). Must we be preached to? How bout some good, old-fashioned fun.

    February 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    • alexanderdaleiii

      I dont see much of an indication of that.

      But at the very least, they arent preaching the evils of technology! In fact they at the most seem to be preaching for technology, that technology can save the day, that it can do good things.

      that they dont have to stand idly by and watch their world die, that they can use the tools of thousands of years of civilization to help their world.

      I like that its almost the inverse of avatar

      Reverting to tribal nature, and living with the land, and becoming savages doesnt help a damned thing for the planet!

      February 15, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  4. Daniel (Mccinny)

    I hope that’s true. I am only basing this off of Lynn Collins comments in the interview video, paraphrasing “I hope the movie makes people leave the theaters and think differently about their lives and the planet”, etc. I can’t imagine she would say this without basis.

    I want to be entertained and see beloved Barsoom come to life on the screen. This was one of the concerns about Stanton’s handling of the material, adding extra crap in for some sort of gravitas. One example of this is dancing around “colored” Barsoomians with tattoos.

    Trust me, I’m not a naysayer of this movie. I love a lot of what I have seen, but I do cringe when I hear things like LC said.

    February 16, 2012 at 7:28 am

  5. Henreid

    The book does have a great ecological thread – at least where the atmosphere is concerned. Burroughs wasn’t exactly predicting that we would be destroying our own atmosphere over the course of the next 100 years, but the concept of technology sustaining our biosphere is more relevant today than it was then and I see no reason not to embrace that. If that was what Stanton was doing, I’d defend that implication.

    But then I read the novelization.

    What he’s actually done is eliminate the Atmosphere Factory entirely (or pushed it to Gods or Warlord, he says), and gone Anti-Industrialism with this whole resource-devouring smoking ‘predator’ AT-AT version of Zodanga (which looks cool, but also a lot like that huge bulldozer in Ferngully).

    You’re right about technology being the savior in Burroughs, which would appear to be the opposite of James Cameron’s Avatar (except that technology is what allowed Jake Sully to help the Na’vi in the first place).

    Be prepared, because what we’re getting in this film is much more like Avatar than the book was – both in terms of the ecological themes and the central character arc.

    February 16, 2012 at 11:02 am

    • alexanderdaleiii

      I thought that was the zodangan method of coping with the dying world not the cause of it. Putting their civilization on the move.

      thats what I got out of it.

      February 16, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  6. Henreid

    Like you, I’m also incredibly disappointed in the [lack of] depiction of race. The Red, Green, and White Martians all appear in this film, yet the entire cast is caucasian. I think they were so afraid of dealing with race on any level that they ran in the opposite direction, which is truly unfortunate for a story that explicitly deals with prejudice, race, and the diversity of culture.

    Not to be totally negative, I do love the airships and landscape designs.

    February 16, 2012 at 11:11 am

  7. ” Like you, I’m also incredibly disappointed in the [lack of] depiction of race.”,
    Race, why does it always have to be race…. – Jeff

    February 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

