Take a friend to Barsoom !

Mornin’ Gentle Barsoomians ! I really should say ‘kaor,’ they do in the movie…  Today’s special is your opportunity to go viral for your art, for John Carter and for the fun of it.  Here’s the gig.  I made up two little posters, one my iphone in Sketchbook Pro, and one on my iPad. Appropriately I did these while I was in LA to see a Disney screening of  JOHN CARTER as part of the ECOF ERB convention.

My personel cool hipster artist parameters for myself were that the pieces are small, they are no larger than 400×600 and that I’ve done them from memory of what I saw in the movie, not a traced over of a photo. This brings some individualism to the pieces. I did one on my iphone and the other on my ipad which produces a larger image. I sized it down, not that I’m sure that matters….  I added text with easyTITLER, which seems to work better on my pad than my phone. The text slides to the right on my phone…

I’m going to use these on facebook and twitter. First with the encouraging Take a Friend to Barsoom, followed by the I Took a Friend to Barsoom afterwards.  While I’m at it, check out the cool new grassroots Take Me Back to Barsoom ! on facebook which has gained a lot of attention in just a day with their push for a sequel.

So get at it – create your own Take a Friend to Barsoom art and spread it about !  I’ve put my name ( being the artist ) and my site on the bottom,  I’d guess you’d like to that with your own creations too. If you want to, send a copy to me and I’ll post them here. You can add how many friends you took to Barsoom too.

I’ve also supplied versions  that you can use with space above the http://www.barsoomia.org for your name if you aren’t creating your own. I wouldn’t want anyone to not be able to participate in this fine Take a Friend to Barsoom ( #takeafriendtobarsoom ) event. If you don’t have the software for adding your name, just ask me and I’ll do it for you.

Spread it all over Twitter, Facebook, Digg – whatever. And TAKE YOUR FRIEND TO BARSOOM ! – Jeff

3 responses

  1. Oh your posters are So cool!!! Definitely sharing and trying to get people out to the theater! 😀

    March 15, 2012 at 10:27 am

  2. Thanks ! I’ve been kicking this around for a while , I’m glad I finally together – you are going do some too right 😉

    March 15, 2012 at 10:40 am

  3. Cool, I will use one on Facebook !
    Meanwhile, check out my review of John Carter:
    https://lowiczanka.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/dejah-thoris-of-barsoom/

    March 15, 2012 at 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

