My entry for the final screening of the film at Hollywood’s El Capitan

From the John Carter files – “John Carter fans are planning to converge on El Capitan for the last screening in a  ”Last Trip To Barsoom” movement to pay respects and share a last journey to the Mars given to them by Andrew Stanton and Edgar Rice Burroughs.  ”Most films go quietly at the end of their theatrical run; John Carter will not — the fans won’t let it,” said Jack Scanlan, a Hollywood publicist who was recruited by  fans to help spread the message.  ”I’ve never seen anything quite like it.”

Public Website: www.BacktoBarsoom.com
email inquiries: backtobarsoom@gmail.com
John Carter Fan Groups Publicist
Jack Scanlan  email:  jackscanlan_hollywood@yahoo.com 323.568.6729

 

And here’s my entry – I’ve seen JOHN CARTER three times in the theater now. It would’ve been more if I was able to. Every time that I’ve watched it I was immensely emotionally involved in the film. I pretty much sat there with my mouth wide-open, drying out my tonsils as I gaped at the screen. I thrilled to meet my beloved literary friends on screen for the first time and found this new telling of their story to be almost as if I was being told the ‘the real story’ for the first time.
Many years ago I returned again and again to see Star Wars in the summer of 1977. After my very first viewing I said ” that was great – now give me JOHN CARTER !” Now that JOHN CARTER is here I will be viewing it again and again and again at long last . – Jeff Doten

One response

  1. I wish I could’ve seen it more but I’m just happy I got to see it on the big screen, even if it was once.

    April 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

