Is time for “A Princess of Mars” ?

 I think Disney’s pretty done with JOHN CARTER and as Michael at thejohncarterfiles has said, may have been for long before the movie opened. This STAR WARS deal didn’t come out of no where, nor was it brokered ( is that the right word ? ) overnight.

I did a little research about the finances of Clash of the Titans and Wrath of the Titans. Nobody loved those, nobody had special screenings or sequel campaigns.  But they made a second one. Clash made a LOT more than John Carter at the box office and cost $150 million instead of $250. It’s too bad that we don’t have an idea about the very successful Blu ray and rental $$$ for JOHN CARTER.

But Carter is a lot better than those movies. It’s something people fall in love with, and it’s still going on. Other filmmakers are going experience/know this too. And there’s a history with JOHN CARTER that isn’t there with Clash of the Titans. I was really surprised how many people used the phrase ‘obscure book’ while reporting on JOHN CARTER, but as the phrase goes – ” you know nothing Jon Snow.” I was 15 in 1977, the year Star Wars came  out. I was ‘late’ on the second ERB book boom.  EVERYONE had read or knew those books. Everyone who was a geek anyways, or even mildly so. When I was older I went to SF cons and I worked in book stores, I sold those books and talked to people about them. We couldn’t keep the books on the shelves. The history of JOHN CARTER doesn’t start and end with it being published in 1912.

Is it time for A Princess of Mars ? I was intrigued by Favreau’s take on the material, a much smaller ( so he say’s ) version that seems to be mostly about Carter’s time with the Tharks. As much as I love Stanton’s take on it, the thought of Favreau’s makes me wistful. I was one of the guys online with him ( on MySpace !) the day that Paramount dumped it and he moved to Iron Man. He was really involved with us fans.

S0 here’s my theory. Disney is done with JOHN CARTER, but the property still exists, and may be gaining a new kind of street cred.  The movie is well liked and increasingly so. Is there some opportunistic someone out there that knows/loves the material that  that figures they can do it right ? That can do it for $150 million like Favreau’s may have been ? It’s not like there’s only one Tarzan movie out there. I started this with the mention of A Princess of Mars, but maybe it should be The Gods of Mars. Half reboot, half sequel. Star Wars opens part way into its story and the seems to have worked out okay.

This doesn’t mean I’m counting on it. Not at all, but weirder things have happened and movie makers have never passed up the chance to make a buck. – Jeff

3 responses

  1. Unfortunately I think that now that Disney has bought Lucasfilm for the sole intent of owning the Star Wars cashcow, John Carter is most definitely put back on that dusty shelf again. I hope that the rights expire soon become available again and are picked up by a studio that’s willing to give it a go and actually back it (Lionsgate?). At least John Carter got made by a director, cast and crew that were passionate about what they were doing, and very greatly received by the fans. That’s more than can be said about most films!

    October 31, 2012 at 11:13 am

    • Yea, I was worried when Rodriguiz had it that it would look cheap, when Conran had it that might be cool but not as moving as I wanted ( not saying that I didn’t like Sky Captain ) – I was good with Favreau having it although some fan base wasn’t ready for him to take on action. I’m just glad that what he have IS a good movie.

      October 31, 2012 at 11:18 am

  2. Abraham Sherman

    Wow, these developments do seem to have opened up that much more of an opportunity for a reboot. Now to see what Disney has planned for the rights… assuming they aren’t just idly sitting on them.

    October 31, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

