Old, really old, announcements for A Princess of Mars from Disney.

GRW banner 2

I was cleaning out the archives and discovered some old issues The Gridley Wave. The Gridley Wave is an Olde World facebook page or website. It showed up in mail box ( a metal box attached to house ) once every few months.  These printed wonders sometimes brought me the only news I caredto read back in the foggy year of 1990. You can see from these ancient texts that A Princess of Mars has been stewing and tossed out a few times by Disney. I can’t describe my delirium at these snippets of news and frustration with it’s further lack. These run from January 1990 to March 1991. I have later issues but there seems to be no further new coming a the time. I think I’d read about the potential casting of Tom Cruise and Julia Roberts. There’s a pretty good summery of 8o’s/90’s attempts here. I’ve placed my clippings in chronological and depressing order. I’ve that Bob Gale script, I think the only professional script I’ve thought was any good was Pogues’. Click the images to read each report and rejoice that we John Carter did finally reach the big screen 🙂  – Jeff

GRW1GRW2GRW4

GRW3GRW6

5 responses

  1. Abraham Sherman

    At the time, little did you know that it would take another 22 years! I only really started following the news/rumors around the year 2000, so it’s fun to see how fans followed things, with the same enthusiasm, ten years earlier, and before there was any internet. Imagine that! 🙂

    January 13, 2014 at 11:11 am

  2. And it just disappeared, we didn’t even know it had been shelved. I think the next news I heard was when Jacks ( and Daniels ?) had bought it. I had called Danton at ERBinc when that toyline came out and said that he’d wished it was for a movie but that the Mars toys had happened because he’d insisted. I guess it was after that this intertoobs and Yahoo groups happened. Then MySpace…

    January 13, 2014 at 11:25 am

  3. H.R.H. The Rider

    You still live! Been awhile since the last update. Surely you’ve finished blogging on your viewing of John Carter by now …

    Michael Sellers over at The Files seems to have fallen asleep in an Arizona cave. Passed this linky on a cool video appraisal of JCM to him, but since he’s gone missing I’ll send it to you as well. I think it’s worth passing around to the Barsoomian brigade:

    http://www.rogerebert.com/mzs/the-unloved-part-2-john-carter

    January 15, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    • Other than no news I think it has a lot to do with Michael’s family connections in the Philippines and his probable involvement there.

      January 19, 2014 at 9:26 pm

  4. Abraham Sherman

    That’s a good article.

    “Burroughs wrote the original tales almost a century ago, when Mars was not just a nearby planet but a red blank slate upon which fantasies could be projected.”

    January 16, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

