Catching up and ‘are we in the future again?’

Stirling  Collage

I’ve really got some catching up to do, not only here but everywhere. There’s less John Carter of Mars news than there was, other than the new comics. Hopefully that will change again with a reboot or something. Between Christmas, my having my gallbladder removed ( I do not miss it ) more ‘out of the house’ work hours that usual and being creatively busier than usual, I’m floundering I admit. It’s time for some list making or I’m done for.

Things sort of pertinent to Barsoomia.

– I reread Stirling’s The Sky People because I had bought Old Mars which has a new Mars story in it that is part of the same series set on Sterling’s Barsoom-ish Mars In the Courts of the Crimson Kings. And because I crave my interplantary adventures, but you know that. I did write to Stirling and ask  him about the third book. He said that it wasn’t likely as it was a labour of love and that he’d take a pay cut to do them. Sales had been reasonable but didn’t justify a third. That was when Crimson Kings had just come out, since then there has been this new short story. So I do wonder/hope that perhaps someday we’ll we’ll see the third part. Perhaps as at  least a novella or something. The world is moving that way….

880x0_p18q6bd58jd921s5ug1f17ffcjk3– I’m really really busy and not used to it at all. I’m working with Reality Skimming Press repackaging their ten book series of space opera novels with both new covers and interior art. As well is that is something a little more Burroughs-ish. I’m the Project Runner ( is that a real thing ?) of an upcoming anthology within the Reality Skimming universe concerning the crash and unintended colonization of the planet Mega. As a short hand description I’m calling it ‘the dinosaur planet thing’ which fits my background in palaeontology’. I’m  busy world building, designing the ecology, life forms and basic story set up.  You can click on the image above to see more MEGA/dinosaur planet artwork.

JC shelf CollageAnd finally back to Mars. In my studio I cleaned up my Barsoom shelf (  yea I have a Barsoom shelf, don’t you ? ) and my wall of artwork beside it.  It’s a sort of post Christmas/New Year thing…. I know that I don’t have a John Carter poster right there at the moment, but it’s cold and some Frazetta ‘Fire and Ice seemed the ticket.’ Now I need to get back to work.

3 responses

  1. Abraham Sherman

    Gallbladders are overrated! Congrats on all the creative opportunities. I hear ya about needing to make a list. Might be good to have a weekly schedule to plan out how much time you’re going to give to each project.

    I’ve got four sets of fingers crossed for that Barroom reboot. 🙂

    January 19, 2015 at 12:23 pm

  2. Abraham Sherman

    Gotta love auto-correct. “Barsoom”, obviously.

    January 19, 2015 at 12:25 pm

  3. I’m in the bar-room right now working on that list. I need lists, I have a teenage daughter, my brain can only handle so much. Thankfully I can search emails and facebook conversations.

    January 19, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

