I’m a little late to the Jungle –

Tarzan Swing– but I got here. Life has been, involving….. I did see The Legend of Tarzan a couple of weeks ago. We did the big IMAX 3D nicey nice seats thing. Just trying to do it right. Right off the bat – I loved it. I was expecting it to be good up front and I was not disappointed. My only concern was the retelling of Kala, baby Tarzan, bla bla bla, and it turns out to be not only to be back story but a plot point about his big hairy brother being pissed at him. Good move 🙂 The apes looked better than the trailers as the FX were now finished. The whole movie looked great and was exactly what I wanted from Tarzan’s Africa. I loved the tree swinging. I want more.
As an ERB-oholic, I’ve read several Tarzan’s, but not all. My first attempt at reading ERB and Tarzan was Tarzan and the Forbidden City when I was around 12 years old and on vacation. I picked up out brand name familiarity but I didn’t get very far in. I really turned onto ERB a few years later with At the Earth’s Core which led to A Princess of Mars, and look where that got me .

From Tarzan to Earth’s Core, I’m not sure I even knew it was the same author at the time. Tarzan was a TV show to me, and one that I didn’t pay a lot of attention to. I still think of ERB as two writers, the fantastical one, and the ‘Men’s Adventure’ one.

Screen shot 2016-07-13 at 1.03.44 PMBut the deeper I got into Burroughs the more I needed. That led to my reading- Tarzan of the Apes, The Return of Tarzan, Tarzan and the Jewels of Opar, Jungle Tales of Tarzan, Tarzan the Untamed, Tarzan and the Ant Men ,Tarzan at the Earth’s Core, Tarzan and the City of Gold, Tarzan and the Castaway. So roughly half of them. I figured out that I far preferred the fantastic to the semi-real, Tarzan at the Earth’s Core, to Tarzan and the Foreign Legion.

I have also learned that the more pages directly devoted to Tarzan as opposed to other characters greatly influences my enjoyment. Even in my reread of Tarzan of the Apes, I’m not that interested in the side characters. But I’ve enjoyed the movies,from Greystoke on, I like ERB, I like apes. Let’s go.

As I said, I loved The Legend of Tarzan, when I showed my wife the trailer she pretty much bounced up and down. That’s why I had no trouble getting her into the fancy theater. I had somewhat high hopes based on the director Peter Yates. I though his handling of the later Harry Potter movies was intense and emotional.

I am also greatly amused that Skarsgard and Kitsch played brothers in the Battleship movie. The ERB brothers 🙂 I’m hoping to see a second Tarzan, we’ll see how the $$$ continues to roll out on it. And of course I want more Barsoom on screen too, but that’s a given. – Jeff

One response

  1. Abraham Sherman

    It’s a fun movie! Here’s hoping they maybe explore a bit more of the fantasy side of the Tarzan stories in the (hoped-for) sequel. Yates says they have an outline, so if the international box office goes well, it might not be too long before there’s rumblings of another movie.

    July 13, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

